2015 AAVSO Awards


from Kristine Larson, AAVSO President:

"On behalf of the AAVSO Council, I wish to publically thank Richard Berry for all he has done for amateur astronomy in general, and digital variable star observing in particular. His receiving the AAVSO Merit Award recently at the Woburn meeting is richly deserved. I was fortunate to have been able to congratulate him in person, but his achievements certainly deserve another acknowledgment. I tip my hat to you sir!"

To see an image of the certificate, follow this link:https://www.aavso.org/sites/default/files/images/awards-merit-berry.jpg



"On behalf of the AAVSO Council, it is also my pleasure to extend a heartfelt thanks to Ed Guinan for his years of service to our community, both as a scientist and AAVSO member and council member. It should surprise no one that he was the recent recipient of the Olcott Distinguished Service Award. While Ed could not join us at the meeting in person, we all raised a glass in his honor. I look forward to shaking his hand in congratulations at a future meeting."

A copy of the full citation can be found at https://www.aavso.org/sites/default/files/images/awards-olcott-guinan.pdf



Lists of earlier recipients of these AAVSO awards may be found here:
     AAVSO Merit Award: https://www.aavso.org/merit-award
     AAVSO William Tyler Olcott Distinguished Service Award: https://www.aavso.org/william-tyler-olcott-distinguished-service-award

Information on all AAVSO honors and awards may be found at https://www.aavso.org/honors-and-awards